Take a Hand Full of Nuts

honey-roasted-nuts-with-mix-fruit_thumb
Nuts are high in protein, fiber, antioxidants and mono-saturated fat. The kind of fat that protects us from chronic heart disease. Some studies have been done in respects to nuts and diabetes and have shown consuming one ounce of nuts daily reduce the risk of developing diabetes. To receive the value of the protein in Almonds you need to eat one ounce (about 24 nuts) to get 6 grams as well as the benefits of vitamin E and the trace mineral magnesium. For Cashews it is also one ounce (about 18 nuts) to receive 4 grams of protein along with these trace minerals: selenium, magnesium, phosphorus and iron. Our other nut in this recipe is the pecan. Twenty halves of pecans will give you 3 grams of protein along with vitamin B1 for energy and the trace mineral zinc.
5 thoughts on “Take a Hand Full of Nuts

  1. My problem is that I like almonds, cashews, walnuts, pecans SOOO much that I can’t stop! I have learned that I REALLY have to keep these in my pantry sparingly, because even though they are super healthy, chalk full of vitamins, protein, and good fats, they are still calorically very high per serving. And let’s be real…it’s hard to stop crunching these tasty snacks after just a handful! haha! To combat this, I like to pre-bag my mix in proper serving amounts to throw in my purse for on-the-go nutrition. That way, I don’t have the option of eating too many in one sitting. 🙂 Great little article! Thanks for the inspiration.

Please leave me a message as I love hearing from my readers

