My mums rice pudding

2782228538_f35c9cf422
I have wonderful memories of my mums rice pudding, made with raisins, brown rice, coconut and a few other yummy ingredients and then baked in the oven. So delicious, I find myself always making her rice pudding in the winter time. Comfort food in the cold weather and comfort from my mum for all the happy memories and times we shared together. Miss you mum xx

Mums baked rice pudding
Ingredients
1 cup brown rice well rinsed  and drained to remove the starch
1 litre low fat milk or soya milk
1 vanilla bean with seeds scraped out
2 tbsp brown sugar
1/2 to 1 cup raisins, depending on your tatse
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Directions
Preheat oven to 160 degrees Celsius
Place rice in a 1.75 litre shallow ovenproof dish
Combine the rest of the ingredients and pour over the rice, stir to mix well
Cover with foil and bake in the oven for 1 hour
Remove the foil and stir well then bake uncovered  for a further 30 min
Remove from the oven again and sprinkle with 2 tbsp castor sugar and and a 1/2 tsp of nutmeg bake in the oven for another 15 min until the top is golden brown
Serve with cream. So delicious
Enjoy 
2 thoughts on “My mums rice pudding

Please leave me a message as I love hearing from my readers

